Howlround Theater Commons Home Page

Welcome to HowlRound

We’re a free and open platform

for theatremakers worldwide.

We amplify progressive, disruptive ideas about theatre and facilitate connection between diverse practitioners. We function as a “commons”—a social structure that invites open participation around shared values. We believe Black Lives Matter.

All of the content (essays, videos, podcasts) on HowlRound comes from the theatre community who chooses to participate—that means you! Generosity from our community allows us to keep all our programs 100% free and open, and enables us to compensate our contributors—donate to help support HowlRound and the artists who are impacted, however big or small, by the unfolding uncertainty of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Browse All Topics

What's New

zoom video chat of several people
Seven Performers Living in Bogotá / Siete artistas que vivan en Bogotá
Essay

Seven Performers Living in Bogotá / Siete artistas que vivan en Bogotá

Actions and Reflections to Cope with the “New Normal” / Acciones y reflexiones para hacer frente a la "nueva normalidad"

1 December 2020

Michelle Yemayá notes that while Colombian theatre artists have found ways to face the unexpected changes this year, artists are still struggling to stay afloat. She talks about how she has adapted her practice under the circumstances and shares the stories of three other artists living and working as artists in Colombia right now. / Michelle Yemayá ha notado que, si bien los artistas del teatro colombiano han encontrado formas de enfrentar los cambios inesperados de este año, la lucha por mantenerse a flote es constante. Habla sobre cómo ha adaptado su práctica a las circunstancias y comparte las historias de otras tres personas que en este momento viven y trabajan como artistas en Colombia.

a small potted plant
The Colombia Outside My Apartment / La Colombia afuera de mi apartamento
Essay

The Colombia Outside My Apartment / La Colombia afuera de mi apartamento

What I Learned From the Quarantine / Lo que aprendí de la cuarentena

30 November 2020

In the intro article to the Colombia series, Carl(os) Roa, a Latinx artist from Philadelphia who made art in Bogotá last year, poses the question “What are the ways in which Colombia’s arts communities are just as fragmented as those in the United States” and shares how uplifting it has been to watch artists in the Bogotanx theatre community adapt to new realities brought on by the pandemic.

hana sharif seated in a theatre
Claiming Our Space with Hana Sharif
Podcast

Claiming Our Space with Hana Sharif

Daughters of Lorraine Podcast Episode #12

25 November 2020

For the last episode of season two of the Daughters of Lorraine Podcast, hosts Jordan Ealey and Leticia Ridley talk with Hana S. Sharif about her journey to becoming one of the first Black women to be artistic director of a regional theatre, managing in a pandemic, her thoughts on the current state of American theatre, and more.

Upcoming Livestreams

Livestreaming a Conversation: Segal Talks with Samuel Buggeln
Video

Livestreaming a Conversation: Segal Talks with Samuel Buggeln

Join us for a conversation about curating, producing and presenting theatre and performance in the Time of Corona

Wednesday 2 December 2020
United States

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presents SEGAL TALKS with Samuel Buggeln livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 2 December 2020 at 9 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 17:00 GMT (London, UTC +01) / 18:00 CET (Berlin, UTC +1).

Livestreaming a Conversation: Green New Theater Part 5
Video

Livestreaming a Conversation: Green New Theater Part 5

Right Relationship to Land and History

Wednesday 2 December 2020
United States

Groundwater Arts presents Green New Theater Part 5: Right Relationship to Land and History (ASL-interpreted) livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 2 December 2020 at 4 p.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) 5 p.m. MST (Colorado, UTC -7) / 6 p.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 7 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5).

A person playing an oud instrument.
Livestreaming Safe Havens Global Stream 2020
Video

Livestreaming Safe Havens Global Stream 2020

Resource-givers and policy makers in fields pertinent to freedom of artistic expression and the protection and defense of at-risk artists

Thursday 3 December 2020
Malmö, Sweden

Safe Havens conference organized from Malmö, Sweden features international resource-givers and policy makers in fields pertinent to freedom of artistic expression and the protection and defense of at-risk artists. Livestreaming on Thursday 3 December 2020 at 7:30 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 12:30 p.m. GMT (London, UTC +0) / 13:30 CET (Berlin, UTC +1) / 20:30 CST (Taipei, UTC +8).

Do you have something to say?
Say it on HowlRound.

All of our content is generated by the community. We want to hear from you!

Participate